Day 26: I Didn’t Sign Up For This

by pjmcbride

…oh wait, I did.

Today was probably the last overtime I will work, since I didn’t see any I liked the looks of in April, and in May we will be infested with trainees.

It was also (stop tugging at my sleeve, Nick, or I really will swat you this time) the last time Nick and I worked together. Actually, we had stopped working together regularly some time ago, when he went to 3rd shift, but our paths crossed for the last hour tonight, when I sent him to work a wreck as soon as he started his shift, although it wasn’t in the rain as I had hoped.

OVERHEARD FROM ACROSS THE ROOM: 911, LIFE COACH AND ADVICE COLUMNIST

…”Sir, she’s not stealing from you if you gave her the money voluntarily….Well, if you knew she wasn’t going to pay you back, maybe you shouldn’t have given it to her in the first place…Maybe moving in with her wouldn’t be a very good idea….Well, you seem to have the answers you need.”

