Day 27: Nobody Knows the Troubles I’ve Heard

by pjmcbride

I gotta start out with this call:

“Can you tell me why the police helicopter is circling the West Side?”

“We don’t have a police helicopter.”

“Well, who does it belong to?”

Resisting the urge to say, “How the hell should I know?” (isn’t it touching how they think we’re omniscient?), I contented myself with “I don’t know.”

“Well, someone needs to check it out.” And how would we do that? Does she think we have flying cars?

Speaking of my problems, when that woman called yesterday irate about not being transferred to Indianapolis 911, it was a good thing I wasn’t the one to answer the phone. She said, “I refuse to believe you are unable to transfer me,” and I would have said, “You can refuse to believe it all you want, but it’s still true.”

THE PROBLEM THAT SOLVES ITSELF

“Subject says he doesn’t care if he gets shot.” Then why are we sending anyone? Apathy is such a problem today.

 

