Sarcastic Asides Aside…

by pjmcbride

DID YOU KNOW?

A study found that sarcasm sharpens brainpower in both the giver and the recipient! Good news for masters of sarcasm such as Nick and myself, who need a safe word just to engage in ordinary conversation. The study did note, however, that “the maker of the remark generally found it funnier than did the recipient.” Well, duh.

911 TEST RESPONSES

Caller: “How many times do I have to call about this red Prius that’s been circling the block?”

PICK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:

“That’s entirely up to you, sir.”

“Since the red Prius has yet to do anything more than circle the block, it’d be fine with me if you never called at all.”

“5”

“I take it this is a rhetorical question?”

“How do you expect me to answer that?”

“Now that you’ve made your dramatic statement, can we move on?”

WHAT I ACTUALLY DID:

–Said nothing until he said, “You there?,” and then resumed information-gathering as if the question had never been asked. Often, nothing is the best thing I can say.

 

