Lorem Ipsum

by pjmcbride

Does anyone else think lorem ipsum is creepy? I first encountered it when visiting the website of a commercial enterprise I’d never visited before, and thought OH NO, WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS PLACE, IT LOOKS LIKE LATIN BUT IT MAKES NO SENSE, and someone said, oh yeah, that’s just lorem ipsum, it means the site is still under construction and they just use it as a placeholder until they add actual text, because it doesn’t distract them from the graphics. Well, I found it distracting, but I guess I’m insufficiently graphics-oriented.  I was also offended when I found out the Stones and R.E.M. come up with the music of a song first instead of, you know, words. Who could imagine that musicians would be primarily concerned with music?

Speaking of non-word stuff, turns out the video for the last post didn’t work after all. I don’t know why that one didn’t and the previous one did, since they both came from YouTube, from which all things of that nature come, as far as I’m concerned.

MY CONVERSATION WITH A FIVE-YEAR-OLD

“Archer, don’t whack that bee.”

“No, don’t whack that other bee, either.”

I’d just rather not be standing next to a bee-whacker.

REHAB: ALIEN FINGER ADAPTS TO LIFE ON THE OUTSIDE

Alien Finger now has permission to be unwrapped when I’m safely at home.

MY CONVERSATION WITH ALIEN FINGER:

A.F.: “Don’t put me under that weird-temperature water, as if I were a real finger!”

ME: “You think all temperatures are weird. Now shut up and finish washing my hair.”

Currently, Alien Finger is saying, “Don’t make me type the letter C!” I never knew it was possible to feel queasy in a finger.

 

 

