I Seem To Have Forgotten Something

by pjmcbride

Hmm, wasn’t there an unfinished story in the works?

BUT FIRST!

Said on the air…”Caller unable to provide any description of suspect, apart from the presence of French fries.” Yeah, that was me, lovable as always.

BLOWS AGAINST THE EMPIRE

No money for new chairs in Dispatch? I know! Make them bring their own chairs from home! Yes, I am going to run this paper-towel issue into the ground. You’ll get tired of it long before I will.

YELLED AT ME AS I LEFT WORK LAST NIGHT BY A CRAZY/DRUNK GUY ACROSS THE STREET

“Hey, 911 girl! Slow down!” When I failed to slow down, he yelled at me to “go away.” You know, I can’t do both.

Why does a sign saying, “Shhhh! Applicant Testing In Progress” make me want to run screaming down the hall? Of course, back when they hired me, Applicant Testing consisted of “Are you smart?” “And can you type?” Testing proved that I was dumber than I thought I was. Nevertheless, here I am.

AND NOW, BECAUSE NICK IS CLAWING AT MY ANKLE…

I remember it as if it were 2 weeks ago…

As those with exceptional memories may recall, I was getting ready to exhibit Nick at the Fall Festival. We had been discussing the relative merits of pronto pups vs. corn dogs. {Nick looks up to see if I’m about to toss him one of those items, then resumes gnawing on the burrito he stole from the freezer.}

I was keeping a wary eye out for the fire trucks stationed at the Festival, since Nick has become enamored of the idea of breathing fire, and suspects that fire trucks actually contain fire. And I didn’t want to become involved in some inter-agency dispute resulting from him attacking a fire truck.

What I was not prepared for was fire trucks screeching past, summoned to an actual fire, and Nick taking off after them.

You might ask, why was he not wearing a harness of some sort? Well, the last time we tried that, he promptly fell down, thrashing and writhing and claiming it “burned” him. You see, he likes to pretend he’s untamed. And he’s trained to obey my voice commands, so I didn’t think it was much of an issue. Of course, it became an issue, once he became airborne.

TO BE CONTINUED…{Nick, stop howling or I will smite you.}

 

