Fishing For Compliments and Looking For Answers

by pjmcbride

Welcome to D., who found her way here safely. I’m betting these are more words than you’ll ever get out of my actual mouth.

Speaking of words…

ANOTHER TIDBIT FROM THE LABOR DAY GATHERING

–Sister Theresa: “I never let my kids scream like these.”

–Charles: “If you burn them with a cigarette once or twice, they’ll learn.”

NO, he’s not really in favor of child abuse. He’s just funny that way. You can see how I’d fit right in with this bunch.

TRUE CRIME TIP

If you plan on robbing someone, don’t wear yellow shorts.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!

The yellow-shorts guy said his victim gave him the money to give to some other guy to buy some pills, and then the pill guy proved unreliable, and a scuffle broke out. The reporting officer observed drily, “Investigation determined there was some truth to this story.” I will report what the pill guy was wearing as soon as details become available.

YOUR HUMBLE NARRATOR COLLECTS COMPLIMENTS! (OF A SORT)

–Thanks to my colleague Canderson, who was astonished that I’m old enough to have had a colonoscopy (9 years ago!). And that’s all you’re going to hear on that topic. Well, except for the fact that I’m planning on having a party for my 60th birthday. I have until May to realize that this would be a really bad idea. As if getting drunk in public could ever be a bad idea.

–Thanks to Charles, for thinking I would make a good novelist, although he has no evidence to base that on.

–And Rom said I was successful in my line of work (not this one, the real one) because “you’ve been there a long time and haven’t been suspended!” Hard to believe, isn’t it?

AND NOW FOR SOMETHING UNPRECEDENTED–I SOLICIT YOUR OPINION!

WordPress has a tempting option, Add Poll. Let’s try it (with some trepidation–what if it doesn’t work and the computer blows up?):

