There’s A Party In My Mind

by pjmcbride

…there’s a party up there ALL the time…Yes, it’s another Talking Heads quote. But I have no fear of being sued, because I am toiling away in obscurity. Well, sort of toiling away. When I feel like it. Which may account for the obscurity.

NICK IS PROVEN WRONG

He once said, “Nothing you are capable of providing could lure me to your lair.” Well, the trap only needed to be baited with…CHOCOLATE! He still wouldn’t set foot inside my house, but he was on my property (and his owner was present, to keep him from bolting away or biting the hand that fed him). See, Nick, I had you eating out of my hand after all. So taming is not out of the question.

A FUN GAME TO PLAY IN YOUR HEAD

Party up there all the time, remember? Whenever you hear a song that mentions a person’s name, imagine someone you know with that name being/doing whatever the lyrics say. I personally am handicapped by having a really dopey song (so that I wonder whenever someone says, “Hey, Paula” if they’re thinking about that stupid song). But the possibilities are endless:

–To a 911 caller I’ve spoken to frequently: “Help me Rhonda, help help me Rhonda…” (Just imagine if she were to call and I BURST INTO SONG)

–To a supervisor: “Hey, Carrie Ann, what’s your game now, can anybody play?” You only get half credit for this one, since her middle name isn’t Ann. But there is a Blue Oyster Cult song, “Astronomy,” with the line “But it’s never said at all, on the map that Carrie reads..”

A Certain Person would certainly butt in here and burst into “Johnny Angel, how I love you,” concerning an officer of our acquaintance. And speaking of officers, you can expand the playing field by counting professions in song lyrics as well as names. For example, there is a David Bowie line from “Ziggy Stardust,” “A cop knelt and kissed the feet of a priest, and a queer threw up at the sight of that.” You can imagine the fun I had with that one.

AND SPEAKING OF SONG LYRICS–AND PARTIES!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO FOXY! You know she’s a cute little heartbreaker…

 

 

