Close Enough for Government Work

by pjmcbride

Tower of London

Tower of London (Photo credit: Sean Munson)

This will be brief, because I’m sleepy and not up to the responsibility.

THE NANNY STATE IS IN MY BEDROOM! AND IN MY BATHROOM TOO!

Our professional attention was directed to an S.O.P. saying, among other things, that it’s our responsibility to be well-rested. Isn’t it cute that they can tell us how much sleep to get? Especially since sometimes the job is why we can’t sleep? They also tell us we have to bathe. I’m not kidding. By the way, there are spiders in my bathroom. They have, from time to time, made their way into the tub. From there, they have gone on to explore the land down the drain, with my help.

GOVERNMENT WORK NEVER CHANGES!

I was reading up on Guy Fawkes Day (Nov. 5th). It was mentioned that after he was arrested, the torturers were told (I’m translating from the old-timey English here) to start out easy, and increase severity if necessary to obtain the information. And the Tower’s torture staff were surely thinking, Don’t tell us how to do our job. I wonder if they had an S.O.P., instruction manual for trainees, etc.

Well, now I’m going to bed, because they told me I have to, and I guess they’ll torture me if I don’t. (“What?!” Nick thinks, waking up momentarily. “Am I missing something?”)

