Maycation Day 2: The Birthday

by pjmcbride

…when it actually is all about me. And the other people born on May 14th, like David Byrne. I got flowers from my sister, uneaten by cats as of this writing, and CDs from Rom (you heard me right, CDs, not downloads for my nonexistent IPod): “Where the Pyramid Meets the Eye” (tribute album to Roky Erickson, since my cassette tape of it was beat-up and worn out), a Simon & Garfunkel compilation (one of my youthful obsessions), and one of Peter Gabriel (Games Without Frontiers! If looks could kill, they probably will..)

Mildly Amusing Adventures, good, bad, and indifferent:

–What’s Wrong With the World Today (what is with the overload of titles in this post?)–conversation overheard on the bus:

“So he asked me where his car was, and I said, ‘It’s up on I-64! And you’ll need to pay the towing fee to get it!’ And in court, he tried to get the restraining order withdrawn, can you believe it? And he tried to get them to take the car away from me. And the bailiff looked at him like he was crazy, and the judge looked at him too, and they’re all like, ‘Her name is on the title too! It’s both of yours car!’ And I was just sitting there like this {folds arms and smiles smugly}. And I’ve got my own set of keys. I got two sets when we bought the car, because I didn’t trust him with the keys.”

I wanted to yell from the back of the bus, “WHY DID YOU BUY A CAR WITH SOMEONE YOU DIDN’T TRUST WITH THE KEYS?” I just bet I’ve talked to both sides of this conversation, because that’s what I get paid to do. Among other things. (In the ominously vague terms of the job description, “Performs other duties as assigned.”)

Speaking of job duties, I also overheard a job interview at McDonald’s. (I could hardly avoid it; they sat down right behind me.) The interviewer asked, “And what are your most and least favorite subjects at school?” What difference does it make? What answers are they looking for?

On to Thornton’s, where a sign on the wall says, “Thornton’s exists to give you your time back.” Really? Wow! How about that time when I missed the bus and had to spend an hour hanging around with nothing to do, can you give me that time

English: An audio cassette tape.

English: An audio cassette tape. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

back? What about the years I spent waiting for a guy who wouldn’t say, “I like you, but not in that way”? (That’s what I said to Rom in the early days, by the way.)

And yeah, I arrange never to work on my birthday. I don’t want to spend it having people yelling at me on the phone. If you want to yell at me, you have to come to my house. For the morbidly curious, I am now 58, and don’t look a day over 53, I’m sure.

 

